The Move

The clouds were gloomy and cold that day. The teacher had an idea of what was going on, but the rest of the class and all my friends had yet to be informed. They had no idea that I was going to leave them and most likely never see them again. Then again, even I had no idea what was really going on. The hours spent at school were nothing out of the ordinary.

giphy (8).gif

The long 45-minute bus ride home was ever so eventful. George was dropped off first, followed by Jonathon and Emily. Like I said, nothing out of the ordinary. Unaware of the time due to the odd and interesting activities going on in the bus, I was taken aback when my house appeared by my window.

I got off, like I normally did. Chip got off too, because he was my neighbor, and we walked down our neighborhood together to get to our houses. As we approached Chip’s house, I saw his mom and dog, happily awaiting his arrival, just like every other day. We said bye and I hurried to my house. On the 5 minute stroll home, my stomach growled, as expected, and I fantasized over what meal could possibly be waiting for me. Once home, I had realized that this day was everything but the ordinary.  

“Hurry Sam! Come on, we’re going to be late!” I had just gotten home from school to find all my belongings neatly packed into 2 large suitcases bigger than me. Dazed, I hypnotically followed all the commands and orders that were shouted from my parents and sisters. What started off ordinary became extraordinary. I could still hear the tires drifting and slipping on the ice covered roads as we left our large, cozy hearth. Only seconds later, tears were streaming down my face as I lost sight of the willow tree that had been on our lawn since before I was born. 

Thinking about all the friends and people that I would probably never see again was agonizing. I did not understand why my parents wanted to move, and I could not forgive them for deciding on doing so. As we circled around the duck pond at the center of our neighborhood, it was hard to swallow the lump in my throat and even harder to forget all the miraculous memories. As my old home was drifting away from me, I drifted away from reality for 2 hours, napping, until we arrived at the airport. It was then that it struck me that I was going to live in California.

The flight was very uneventful (sleeping, apple juice, and staring at the clouds). Once we landed in LAX, everything was a blur. Never in my life had I seen so many cars so late at night. There was not one area lacking of vibrant, radiant light. There weren’t even any tractors or lawnmowers on the road! This kind of lifestyle was much different than the rural lifestyle back in Ohio.

Subsequently, the transition was very difficult for me and my family. We had to go from the bottom, starting with our clothes because our winter bubble vests would not cut the hot weather. Still, once we adjusted, California was, in reality, a blessing in surprise. At first, the move was extremely traumatizing, but then I soon realized that sometimes traumatizing events can be a good thing as I met so many new friends and learned so much more than anything I could have back on the east coast. California was so much more fast-paced, interesting, and fun and I absolutely loved it.

Leave a Reply

