For the Love of Hiking

Outdoorgainz

vivivian creek sign

While hundreds if not thousands will on this day profess their love to another human, I choose to publicly pronounce my love of Hiking to the world!!

            I think it has been in my genes as my father, and his father before him were both avid hikers. Both growing up very active in their Scout Troops, communities, and in the outdoors.

My love of backpacking didn’t really become fully apparent to me until I took my first hike with my dad as a Boy Scout. I remember very clearly waking up early that Friday morning packing our Kelty Backpacks into the back of our five year old Chevy Tahoe and hitting the road. The destination that my dad had in mind was a somewhat secluded spot in the San Gorgonio wilderness where we would hike in a mile and camp for the weekend.

The purpose of our trip was…

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

