The City that Never Sleeps

I grew up in very rural communities. Born on the border of Ohio and Michigan, in Maumee, there were no bright lights, loud cars, bustling crowds, hot dogs and burgers on every corner, etc. What I had, in the small town of Maumee, was a free and open neight proof where it would be rare to people drive by. In fact, in order to get out, my neighbors often drove their own lawnmowers.

California was a bit more urban. When I moved to California, the scene of cars and people absolutely amazed me. It wasn’t that the cars and people were particularly numerous, but that they were much more numerous than what I had experienced before.

Then came New York.

“The city that never sleeps,” and for good reason as well. Never before had I been so astonished just from the sight of the city. The life and vibe from the New York atmosphere was phenomenal.

image

Everywhere I walked, I was in a crowd. Never did I feel that I was alone, and many times that may be a bad thing, but for me, it was exhilarating. At the earliest hours of the morning, there were always many people already up and about. The darkest times of the night also had people around.  In fact, walking around Times Square around 1 AM at night felt like it was 1 PM in the afternoon.

The liveliness of the people and the city were bewildering, especially in such cold weather. While I was in New York, the temperature was around 26 degrees (Fahrenheit). For a Cali kid like myself, I was freezing, but I’m sure the locals didn’t feel the cold as much as I did.

The stores in NYC seemed as though they never closed. Asking for hours, the managers and workers would say “8-12:30.” Sure, the stores close outside of those hours, but they really don’t close because there are people outside of these places, waiting for the opening.

The attractions that I went to during my stay in New York left me breathless. From the Freedom Tower and the 9/11 Memorial to the Statue of Liberty and Times Square, there wasn’t a dull moment. The fluster of emotions and amazement that I felt was one in a million.

Through the monumental advertisments, lights, theaters, operas, shows, stores, hotels, restaurants, decorations, tourist attractions, and overall atmosphere, New York City truly did never sleep.

Leave a Reply

