Is Praise Praise-Worthy?

GIF ©2015 by Kurt Hartfelder [CC-by-2.0]
Stephen Curry… Does he do it for the recognition or for his supporters?        GIF ©2015 by Kurt Hartfelder [CC-by-2.0]
People love getting praised. They love the feeling of recognition and success in what they do. But in all honesty, is praise really something that we should get worked up over? A lot of people say, “You’re never really as good as people say you are, but at the same time, you’re never really as bad as they say you are either.” So what is so satisfying and great about praise, and is it something that we should work towards?

People love getting praised. They love the feeling of recognition and success in what they do. But in all honesty, is praise really something that we should get worked up over? A lot of people say, “You’re never really as good as people say you are, but at the same time, you’re never really as bad as they say you are either.” So what is so satisfying and great about praise, and is it something that we should work towards?

As a kid, I used to take all these different kinds of classes and take part in a variety of other activities. I played the piano and violin, took swim lessons and was on a swim team, went to Vietnamese school, practiced martial arts at a studio, played soccer and basketball, etc. From all of these activities, I was able to attain an average amount of awards, certificates, and medals. Nothing extraordinary, but my family would always tell me how great I was and how proud they were of me. They always supported me during these times, and continued to encourage me in my times of failure. Still, I never really took their comments to heart.

GIF ©2013 by BuzzFeed Sports [CC-by-2.0]
Grandpa and Kate Upton giving you some praise                                         GIF ©2013 by BuzzFeed Sports [CC-by-2.0]
I found it difficult to empathize with their emotions towards myself. To me, it felt as though I was just doing whatever I was doing. Nonetheless, they would frame up and showcase all of my successes and always discuss them with relatives, neighbors, friends, guests, etc. The people around me were more excited than I was. Why is that? Is it just because I just didn’t feel attached to my triumphs? Or was it some other underlying matter? Eventually, I found out what it was that inhibited my attachment towards these things. I, personally, saw awards and certificates as trivial things that bolster one’s self-confidence and attitude. However, as I myself didn’t get too worked up over defeat and failure, I saw minimal use in recognition and rewards.

Many people use these things as a goal for success and motivation, so with me missing that drive, what was it that kept me going? That was my question for myself. Then, I realized that it was my supporters and family that kept me going. Throughout my life, they were the ones that adored and idolized my victories, while cheering me up during my losses. They were my awards and certificates. It almost seemed as though they were trying to experience all of the activities that I partook in in order to experience it themselves. In a way, I was the one living their lives for them. Sure, in some cases, that may not be a good thing, but for me, I find it as the strongest motivation that anyone, no anything, can give you. More powerful than money, power, wealth, fame, the support and spirit of the people is something that empowers me. For others, it may be different, and the idea of praise may be completely opposite from what I believe. However, in my perspective, praise is praise-worthy and respectable, but you really should not worry about it too much. This is the same for hate and negative comments.

Whether it be physically, emotionally, or over social media through likes and favorites, praise is a controversial topic. While it does hold some truth and reason, it is not substantial and hold no real power (in my opinion). Ultimately, it is up to you to view these things yourself, decide how you will feel about them, and discern how they will affect your goals and aspirations. If you do so, I’ll give you a gold medal.images

Leave a Reply

